Monday, July 08, 2013

Life After Wartime

So because I have a new novel, Evening's Empires, in the Quiet War sequence/universe/future history coming out real-soon-now, I've compiled a new collection of Quiet War stories.  From the introduction:
Two of the stories in this collection, ‘Sea Change, With Monsters’ and ‘Dead Men Walking’ are set in the period of Gardens of the Sun; ‘Macy Minnot's Last Christmas on Dione, Ring Running, Fiddler’s Green, the Potter’s Garden’ is set a couple of decades afterwards, at the beginning of a long, slow, peaceful colonisation of the solar system. Most of the fourteen fragments or micro-fictions collected here are set in that golden age: snapshots of ordinary life in a hopeful future. Just one, ‘The Paladin’ hints at the end of that golden age, and a new cycle of turbulence and violence. The last two novels in the Quiet War sequence, In the Mouth of the Whale and Evening’s Empires, are set in the aftermath of the rise and fall of the True Empire, some 1500 years after the Quiet War. These stories are the deep background of their history.
Also includes the first chapter of Evening's Empires. Available on Kindle for the special price of just 77 British new pence, or 1.15 US dollars.

Also available: Stories From The Quiet War.

And by the way, Macy Minnot's Last Christmas on Dione...' was first published in Jonathan Strahan's award-winning anthology Edge of Infinity, packed with great stories about the new solar system. Highly recommended to anyone who likes the Quiet War books.


Blogger Mark said...

Any chance of seeing more of your stuff, especially The Quiet War tales, on Kobo, Paul?

July 08, 2013 9:15 pm  
Blogger Mark Cooper said...

From what I've read so far this is *incredible* value for money for those of us who enjoy grown-up science fiction.

I cannot understand why more people haven't heard of you.

July 08, 2013 10:01 pm  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Newer Posts Older Posts